The Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) has established a network of monitoring stations on aquatic resources across the country. The present network comprises of 2500 stations in 28 States and 6 Union Territories spread over the country. The monitoring network covers 445 Rivers, 154 Lakes, 12 Tanks, 78 Ponds, 41 Creeks/Seawater, 25 Canals, 45 Drains, 10 Water Treatment Plant (Raw Water) and 807 Wells. Among the 2500 stations, 1275 are on rivers, 190 on lakes, 45 on drains, 41 on canals, 12 on tanks, 41 on creeks/seawater, 79 on ponds, 10 Water Treatment Plant (Raw Water) and 807 are groundwater stations. Summary of the network is as follows:

facebook Logo
Twitter  Logo