Minutes of Meeting with Public Agencies on Preparedness for ASEAN Summit January 23, 2018 at CPCB, Delhi

A meeting to assess preparedness for ongoing ASEAN summit was held at Parivesh Bhavan, CPCB, Delhi on January 23, 2018, chaired by the Head, AQM, CPCB. List of participants is placed at Annexure-I.

Dr. Prashant Gargava, Head AQM welcomed the participants and informed the plan of events of ASEAN summit. He emphasized need for continuing extensive field actions especially at 08 identified locations (Hotel Lalit, Chanakyapuri, Paravasi Bhartiya Kendra, Rajpath, Taj Diplomatic Enclave, Azad Bhawan, Talkatora Stadium, Tughlaqbad Avenue), where frequent movement of State Heads is scheduled, along with other areas which are likely to contribute to overall high ambient air quality levels in Delhi.

In addition, public agencies were advised to take following actions till January 31, 2018,

- 1. Concerned implementing agencies (DPCC, MCDs, Traffic Police, etc.) to ensure extensive deployment of manpower (may consider deputing volunteers) and machinery during the ASEAN Summit and ensure strict vigilance, especially in hotspot locations (Anand Vihar, DTU, Shadipur, R K Puram, Punjabi Bagh, Mandir Marg, Bhalaswa landfill)
- 2. To ensure no visible emissions in 08 ASEAN locations
- 3. To deploy all mechanized sweeping machines and continuous water sprinkling on roads & unpaved area
- 4. Ensure no heaping of waste takes place anywhere
- 5. Integrate water sprinkling with manual sweeping, so no dust re-suspension takes place.
- 6. Special drive for challaning construction activities taking place without dust control measures

List of participants

- 1. Dr. Prashant Gargava, Head AQM, Central Pollution Control Board
- 2. Sh Rajendra Prasad, SE, East Delhi Municipal Council
- 3. Sh Mula Singh, EE, East Delhi Municipal Council
- 4. Sh Tufel Ahmed, Consultant, South Delhi Municipal Council
- 5. Sh M.P. George, Scientist D, Delhi Pollution Control Committee
- 6. Sh Gurcharan Singh, Deputy Chief Architect, New Delhi Municipal Council
- 7. Mrs Garima Sharma, EE, CPCB
- 8. Mrs. Shalini Manoj, RA, CPCB